close-up of a mixed media art piece
Mixed meda layers of love and kindness Sunday inspiration 11-8-20
Posted Nov 8, 2020
4 Comments

Oh my, the grungy goodness! I knew what I wanted when I started, but I didn’t quite know how to get there.

So I worked a while until it finally came together. There are so many layers of modeling paste, gesso, paint, pastels… this was the perfect escape!

I usually do my Sunday videos a week in advance and as we were approaching the election, the tension and anxiety in everyone was running high. Including myself.

Although I know that all things are not in my control and we will always work through all the things.

I felt myself feeling a bit shaky and as I talked with others I could feel the tension.

So as I always do I went to my journal and wrote it out.

I wrote ” Kind words -Words of love – They fall into the darkness and shed light. They fall softly on the hurting and soothe.

Kind words can be the medicine for healing.

Words of love bring hope

Words of love can calm anxiety

Words of love can build bridges and give life.

Lord, let me see your words of love, let me see them in people, let me give them without hesitation, without fear. Lord let me love like you.”

I pray that you experience words of kindness and love today and that you also give them freely.

Enjoy the video

https://youtu.be/lVyUj07kECo

This original is available HERE and the prints available HERE

Supplies used:

11×14 mdf board, Nova color gesso, Liquitex fluid matte medium, Golden modeling paste (semi opaque), Large spatula knife, square palette knife,

Paint: Nova color (portrait), Arteza med gray, Lukas acrylic (olive green, raw umber, titanium white) Golden heavy body (nickel azo gold, deep violet, paynes gray), Liquitex heavy body (parchment, quin magenta, muted turquoise) Liquitex acrylic ink(muted gray) Dr.PH martin acrylic ink in silver, Gallery soft pastels, Amsterdam (black)

Stencils used: Vintage Bellflower, Vintage Dahlia, Spanish tiles 2, Spanish elements – THESE WILL BE ON SALE THIS WEEK

This post contains affiliate links from Amazon and Blick at no cost to you.


In case you missed it this week I did a quick video on some great soft pastels for beginners. You can watch it here


Also this week – I’m happy to let you know that I’m a contributing artist to the Art Bundle for good and they are doing a giveaway! Giveaway ends November 11th. Then the actual sale of the bundle will begin November 12th.

Enter to win the giveaway HERE

Look at all the art courses in this bundle! So, so good! My Abstract journey workshop is included in the bundle!

  1. Happy Houses (Tamara Laporte – willowing.org) Value $23
  2. Jump Into Abstract Painting (Tracy Verdugo – tracyverdugo.com) Value $27
  3. Any Two Mini Online Course of Your Choice (Flora Bowley – florabowley.com) Value $72
  4. Graffiti Girl (Mary Beth Shaw – stencilgirlstudio.com) Value $19
  5. Little Book of Whispers (Laly Mille – lalymille.com) Value $79
  6. Figures in the Mist Watercolour (Colin Bradley – colinbradleyart.com) Value $13
  7. Whispers of Nature (Katrina Koltes – katrinakoltes.com) Value $72
  8. Petit Papillon (Olga Furman – olgafurmanart.com) Value $44
  9. Draw Owls: Designed for the Dark (Val Webb – valwebb.wordpress.com) Value $40
  10. Sun, Snow & Flowers in Watercolor (Angela Fehr – learn.angelafehr.com) Value $39
  11. Illuminated Pages April (Renata Loree – renataloree.com) Value $45
  12. Finding Joy in Abstraction (Dina Wakley – dinawakley.com) Value $30
  13. Queen of the Scene – Bee Queen (Andrea Gomoll – andrea-gomoll.de) Value $20
  14. The Beauty of Black & White (Juna Biagioni – junabiagioni.com) Value $34
  15. Watercolour Fast and Loose (Andy Walker – artclasspro.com) Value $40
  16. Darling Human Art Journaling E-Course (Effy Wild –  learn.effybird.com) Value $99
  17. Loose & Sketchy Abstract Blooms (Jessica Sanders – colormecreativeart.com) Value $25
  18. Angel Wings Constellations (Kassi Martin – kassimartin.com) Value $194
  19. Past, Present & Future Self – Mixed Media Class (Iris Fritschi-Cussens – create.iris-impressions.com) Value $27
  20. Activating The Canvas (Nancy Hillis – artistsjourney.com) Value $197
  21. Watercolor Pixie (Jenny Manno – jennymanno.com) Value $30
  22. Field Pumpkins On Pastelmat (John Middick – sharpenedartist.com) Value $79
  23. Faces of Flow – Black on White (Jenny Grant – jennygrantart.com) Value $25
  24. Fanning the Flames of Fall – Watercolour for Beginners (Alison Fennell – thepotteringartist.co.uk) Value $80
  1. How to Add Power to Your Paintings (Malcolm Dewey – malcolmdeweyfineart.com) Value $25
  2. Working in Relief on the Painted Surface (Lisa L. Cyr – cyrstudio.com) Value $350
  3. Love Your Life Creative Journal Class (Andrea Schroeder – creativedreamincubator.com) Value $73
  4. Create Connections with Joyful Snail Mail (Consie Sindet – atopserenityhill.com) Value $42
  5. Bird Collection (Josie De Meo – josiedemeo.com) Value $161
  6. BLACK and GOLD (Ildikó Karsay – artbyildy.com) Value $50
  7. C.R.E.A.T.E. Embracing a Creative Habit (Christa Forrest – creativesoulsart.com) Value $20
  8. A Walk to the Lake (Richard Robinson – nzpainter.com) Value $45
  9. Sketchbook Express (Jerney Marisha – jerneymarisha.com) Value $23
  10. Ladies with character (Yvonne Morell – yvonnemorell.com) Value $57
  11. Digital Marbling: Create Stunning Abstract Art in Procreate (Rich Armstrong – taptapkaboom.com) Value $43
  12. Alla Prima Oil Painting (Nataliya Gurshman – natikart.com) Value $150
  13. Winter Birch Trees in Watercolor (Leslie Lambert (Redhead) – leslieredheadart.com) Value $19
  14. Intuitive Collage For Emotional Insight (Shelley Klammer – expressiveartworkshops.com) Value $30
  15. Creative Art Journaling (Addie Hirschten – studioalchemy.art) Value $60
  16. A Certain Darkness is Needed to See the Stars (Tamara Laporte – willowing.org) Value $23
  17. Exploring Watercolor 101 LITE (Kolbie Blume – thiswritingdesk.com) Value $49
  18. Abstract Journey mixed media workshop (Shawn Petite – shawnpetite.com) Value $67
  19. Dry Brush Lettering: How to Create a Textured Style the Easy Way (Shelley Hitz – yourcreativeadventure.com) Value $39
  20. Abstract Watercolor Painting Backgrounds (Chris V – octopusconnection.com) Value $27
  21. Painting Bees With Alcohol Inks (Kellie Chasse – kelliechassefineart.com) Value $50
  22. Beyond the Layers, Creating Figures in Oils & Cold Wax (Marina Teding van Berkhout – marinatvb.com) Value $67
  23. Art Journaling Flow (Irit Landgraf – iritlandgraf.com) Value $45
  24. Artist Websites that Sell (Cory Huff – theabundantartist.com) Value $49
  25. How To Find Your Art Style: A Hands-On Guide! (Patricia Caldeira – doncorgi.com) Value $15
  26. Coach Yourself to Creativity (Nadia Arbach – clearthedecks.co.uk) Value $97
  27. Animal Magic Journaling Coloring Kit (Amanda Jessie – amandajessiestudios.com) Value $5
  28. Chaos Mixed Media (Christina Miles – wingsnscales.com) Value $28
  29. Washi Tape Mixed Media Girl (Karen Campbell – awesomeartschool.com) Value $24
  30. Unicorn Bliss – Find Your Bliss Mid in the Chaos (Alexandra Kleinichen – alexkhealthcoach.com) Value $39
  31. Mermaid Muse (Tiare Smith – tiaresmith.com) Value $25
  32. Through the Looking Glass of Layers (Mary Beth Shaw – stencilgirlstudio.com) Value $19
  33. Fall Truck with Pumpkins Painting Masterclass (Pamela Groppe – pamelagroppe.com) Value $37
  34. Moments in Time (Katrina Koltes – katrinakoltes.com) Value $23
  35. Next Jeneration Friday Creation’s (Jenny Manno – jennymanno.com) Value $5
  36. Watercolour Tutorial Mini Bundle (Kerrie Woodhouse – kerriewoodhouse.com) Value $42
  37. Color Theory for Illustrators: a Fun Beginner’s Guide to Creative Colour (Brooke Glaser – brookeglaser.com) Value $35
  38. Create your own: Mixed Media Inspiration Cards (Consie Sindet – atopserenityhill.com) Value $24
  39. Cosmic Colours Intuitive Art Workshop (Michelle Mann – michellemannart.com) Value $99
  40. The Nature heArt Journal (Francisca Nunes – franciscanunes.com) Value $76
  41. Your Art Biz Refresh + Refocus Retreat Ecourse (Bonnie Glendinning – theartistsmentor.com) Value $27
  42. KuanYin, an Oil Pastel Class (Lucy Morningstar – lucymorningstar.art) Value $29
  43. Key to Luminous Paintings (Layne Johnson – laynejohnson.com) Value $69
  44. Watercolor Leaves (Nicki Traikos – lifeidesign.com) Value $47
  45. Discover Nature Sketching (Christine Elder – christineelder.com) Value $50
  46. Sculpting Solana (Suzette Hussey – suzettehussey.com) Value $50
  47. Flora the Chook (Anna Battle – shinyhappyartonline.com) Value $32
  48. 10 Minutes to Take-Off! (John Middick – sharpenedartist.com) Value $39
  49. Simple book-making & eco-printing on paper (Ellie Beck – petalplum.com.au) Value $35
  50. How To Paint A Landscape Mural (Joe Cornelius – muraljoe.com) Value $69
  51. Mixed Media Abstract Book Page (Jenny Manno – jennymanno.com) Value $23
  52. Watercolor Wonderland: Rainbows, Abstracts, and Mark-Making, Oh My! (Kimma Smith – kimmasmithart.com) Value $35
  53. Acrylic Painting Introduction (Rod Moore – learntopaint.academy) Value $47
  54. Painting the Shoreline in Watercolour – The Beachcomber’s Bounty (Alison Fennell – thepotteringartist.co.uk) Value $37
  55. King Charles Spaniel (Colin Bradley – colinbradleyart.com) Value $13
  56. How to make it POP! (Mimi Bondi – mimibondi.com) Value $18
  57. Mastering the Basics of Handmade Journals (Kiala Givehand – kialagivehand.com) Value $22
  58. Illuminated Pages May (Renata Loree – renataloree.com) Value $45
  59. Creative Soul LIVE – She Is One With The Elements (Christa Forrest – creativesoulsart.com) Value $12
  60. Ocean’s Poem: a Creativity and Art Journal Course (Melanie Rivers – melanierivers.ca) Value $39
  61. Wander Journal (Lorraine Bell – lorrainebell.com) Value $28
  62. Loose Watercolor Florals (Kolbie Blume – thiswritingdesk.com) Value $20
  63. 7 Day Doodle Challenge (Jane Snedden Peever – jspcreate.com) Value $25
  64. Mixed Media Canvas Collage Class (Keren Tamir – kerentamir.com) Value $40
  65. Art Journal Playdate with Jennibellie (Jennibellie – journalworkshops.ning.com) Value $37
  66. Autumn Leaves in Watercolor (Leslie Lambert (Redhead) – leslieredheadart.com) Value $19
  67. Intuitive Painting: Organic Collage (Beth K. Bedbury – bethkbedbury.com) Value $33
  68. Queen of the Scene – Forest Queen (Andrea Gomoll – andrea-gomoll.de) Value $20
  69. Abstract Flowers (Dina Wakley – dinawakley.com) Value $30
  70. Creative Dream HOLYDay (Andrea Schroeder – creativedreamincubator.com) Value $73
  71. Making Alice (Tamara Laporte – willowing.org) Value $23
  72. Hands Reference Pack for Artists (Patricia Caldeira – doncorgi.com) Value 1$
  73. Journal With Me! 2020 Taster Session (Sue Young – sujatistudio.com) Value $16
  1. Create your own: Prayer Pocket Flags (Consie Sindet – atopserenityhill.com) Value $24
  1. Introduction to Faux-Calligraphy and Modern Calligraphy (Essy Chen –  instagram.com/essy_creates) Value $19
  2. Rock Your Art Journal (with colouring books) (Amanda Jessie – amandajessiestudios.com) Value $26
  3. Paint Loose Watercolour Flowers – Glorious Gladioli (Alison Fennell – thepotteringartist.co.uk) Value $25
  4. Next Jeneration Friday Creation’s #2 (Jenny Manno – jennymanno.com) Value $5
  5. Stencil 101 (Mary Beth Shaw – stencilgirlstudio.com) Value $19
  6. Illuminated Pages June (Renata Loree – renataloree.com) Value $45
  7. Snail Mail Art with Love (Kelli May-Krenz – kellimaykrenz.com) Value $65
  8. How to Paint Flesh (Kimberly Brooks – kimberlybrooks.com) Value $49
  9. Creative Soul LIVE – Mindfulness is Magical (Christa Forrest – creativesoulsart.com) Value $12
  10. Miniature Food with Polymer Clay for Beginners (Maha Atef – selsal.online) Value $15

1 more day for early bird pricing for my newest workshop!

Closing signature

This post contains affiliate links from Amazon and Blick at no cost to you.

This means if you click on the link and purchase the item, we will receive an affiliate commission and we are disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Posted Nov 8, 2020
Headshot photo of artist

Hello there! I’m Shawn Petite

I’ve been teaching and creating for well over 25 years. About 15 years ago I found my art soul mate in mixed media, and it changed my life! I love the story that can be told by combining paint, texture, ink, paper and—really anything that you can imagine.

But what I’m truly passionate about is being your guide, walking with you step by step and helping you become your own hero in your creative journey.

Along my path, I’ve learned that the creating art also creates a healing space. Life can be messy and complicated and painful, but something about a paint brush can help heal your soul. I believe—no, I know—you are worthy of love, and I want to teach you to know that about yourself. Join me on this journey of art and inspiration!

4 Comments

  1. Jenni

    Thanks for your calming, soothing kind words! I hear your courage shine through the anxiety in your voice. Your vulnerability is a guiding lesson.
    Stay well.

    Reply
    • shawn

      Jenni, thank you and thank you for sharing the journey with me!

      Reply
  2. Cindy La Bare

    Great message and beautiful piece! Thank you so much for sharing! God bless!😍

    Reply
    • shawn

      Thank you so much Cindy!

      Reply

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Graphic for mixed media insider membership

Mixed media insider Membership

A monthly subscription to creativity. Each month new workshops, Sunday inspiration breakdown, mixed media basics, techniques and so much more.

 

Learn more and free preview

Spice Up Your Inbox!

Our creative art resources are full of joy and inspiration! By joining my mailing list you get access to our free, subscriber-only resource library and more! Join today to get 20% off your first order!